Da Muse (Am I even qualified to talk about this yet??)

2 Nov

I saw this post from jaylake from a while ago and while it’s specifically about writers (who we all know are freaks and to be avoided), I still found myself identifying to some extent – mostly this bit:

Because I only get that calling-down-fire-from-the-gods feeling when I am writing, never when I’m waiting to write or thinking about writing or wishing I was writing. And I’ve written a lot of dreck along the way. But every time I sit down at my keyboard, I’m buying a ticket in the Muse lottery.

The Muse and hard work are not mutually exclusive. In fact, I submit, they can be one and the same. It’s certainly worth a shot, innit? Meanwhile, you’ve got more stories written while waiting for her to fly by the window.

I can have a million images in my head but they don’t actually exist until I try putting them on paper. Even more importantly, I don’t even know if they can exist – or their potential – until I do. So I definitely agree – the muse really only works when you’re doing.

So if we try to extend the common ‘write every day'[1] advice ,do you have to draw every day? Simply from a practical point of view, you do have to draw regularly to ‘keep your eye in’. Unlike writing, drawing needs physical practice as well as mental. Is physical practice more important than mental? I dunno yet. Possibly not, but you do need it.

Do I draw every day? Hell no! As I’ve said previously, I’m too fucking busy 😉

[1]Yeah – I know ‘write every day’ doesn’t work for everyone and writers need to find what works for them, blah, whatever. Like I said – who cares about writers??

Leave a Reply

