Items (3)

19 Jul

Ecstacy
Ecstacy
Originally uploaded by kathrynlinge

  1. Lifedrawing
    I have found myself a new lifedrawing group, and have attended the last two weeks. It’s a bit different from the class I was doing in the UK, as it’s not a class per se. There’s no teacher – you just turn up, draw for a bit, and go home. There’s a couple of disadvantages to that. Firstly, if you’re doing something wrong, you kinda have to work out what that is by yourself. There doesn’t seem to be *so* much exploration of alternative media – mostly people seem to be using pencil/charcoal and I think it could be easy to get into a rut where you turn up every week, do the same thing as last time, then leave again. I’m going to try and set different exercises for each class and I decided in the class this week (on Tuesday) that I’d try and concentrate on drawing heads and faces. Most of my efforts were pretty crap, but I’ll keep practicing.There’s a couple of advantages too, though. Firstly, it’s really really frigging cheap! $7 for 2.5 hours, plus a glass of wine (red) or oj. Also, I’m not locked into any sort of course so i can attend or not as I like. Everyone seems very nice too and there’s a good spread of people attending. The picture featured here was from my ‘Head and Faces’ class, but the head wasn’t really obvious from my spot so I went for the whole body instead.

    This group is my first foray into the ‘art community’ here in WA. I look forward to finding stuff out.

  2. Comics
    When I got my new computer, it came with a program called ‘Comic Life’, which allows you to make up comics from photos, etc, etc. Never did I think that I’d actually use it, so I’m glad I’ve had the opportunity to do so 🙂
  3. Book
    Oh, yeah. And Ben Peek’s new book Black Sheep is now out. I have plans to read it in about 2.3 books time…
19 Responses to “Items (3)”

  1. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 6:04 am #

    Very skilful use of Comic Life there. 🙂

  2. benpeek July 20, 2007 at 6:46 am #

    haha

  3. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 6:52 am #

    Thanks! I seriously thought I’d never use it.

  4. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 6:53 am #

    It’s actually not a bad program – and a very clever idea.

  5. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 6:54 am #

    You laugh at my Art!??

  6. benpeek July 20, 2007 at 6:56 am #

    never.
    where can i meet the girl that cums just cause my book is there? give her my phone number will you 😉

  7. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 7:04 am #

    Have you used it much? I have to say, I’ve never had the urge to turn my photos into comics.
    Until now…
    🙂

  8. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 7:05 am #

    No, I haven’t – it hasn’t been available for Windows (I think the Windows version has gone into beta only very recently), so I’ve frankly been envious of my friends who have it.

  9. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 7:09 am #

    Ah ok – I thought you had a Mac allready
    (But I guess you want to upgrade?)

  10. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 7:15 am #

    I’ve been talking about getting a Mac for about a year now. I don’t think I’ll be able to get one for a while yet, though.

  11. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 7:16 am #

    You should see the latest thing that the people who made Comic Life (plasq) have come up with. I’ll put the video up on my LJ, gimme a couple of minutes.

  12. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 7:19 am #

    Sorry, just click here to see the video. I can’t work out how to embed it into LJ.

  13. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 7:27 am #

    Can’t watch vid at work, but I’ll check it out tomorrow…

  14. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 7:29 am #

    where can i meet the girl that cums just cause my book is there?
    Visit Perth, and I’ll take you to lifedrawing 😉

  15. benpeek July 20, 2007 at 7:31 am #

    naked girl. perth. naked girl. perth. naked girl. perth.
    hmm.
    no.
    🙂

  16. devinjay July 20, 2007 at 7:32 am #

    Oh, okay – it’s a very cool sketch/photo program.

  17. kathrynlinge July 20, 2007 at 7:38 am #

    😛

  18. kathrynlinge July 21, 2007 at 6:29 am #

    you’re right – it’s very cool 🙂

  19. devinjay July 21, 2007 at 2:31 pm #

    Yet another reason why I want to buy a Mac. *sigh*
    I did the math, and I don’t think I can get one till sometime next year, though.

Leave a Reply

