In which G takes one for the team.

16 Sep

There’s a lot of responsibility in organising a life drawing group. You gotta turn up each week, you gotta book the room, book the model, take the money and buy the booze. You gotta fill in for the model if they don’t turn up…

The first time drawing companion (DC) and I turned up for the group was a bit surreal. We were a bit late and so we snuck in not really knowing what we were going in to. It didn’t help that the class was in session and they were drawing a fully dressed man. This wasn’t quite the nude we were expecting, but it soon transpired that this was in fact G-the-organiser filling in until the model turned up. Fortunately she did a couple of minutes later and the group went on as expected.

Fastforward to last week and DC’s last class. It seemed we come full circle, when once again the model was late and G started off with some poses in his jeans and jumper. Just like last time, he got his phone out mid pose and called the model. I thought he’d got through cos suddenly he’s off to the back room with a towel. ‘He’s getting ready for them’, I thought. Noooo… Within a few minutes G’s out again, with towel, but sans clothes. Apparently it’s not the first time he’s had to fill in, I hope he keeps the model’s money when he does…

Life drawing class 11th September 2007

Respect, G.

This is my 1 hour pose, which has a very good face, but a slightly distorted body. The arm’s not right. I actually like the shapes in my 30 minute pose better (despite the rough pencil):

Life drawing class 11th September 2007

And I like the 10 minute pose too:
Life drawing class 11th September 2007

It might be these were just better (more interesting) angles.

5 Responses to “In which G takes one for the team.”

  1. planeterry September 16, 2007 at 11:35 pm #

    You acing this drawing thing!
    *envy*

  2. kathrynlinge September 17, 2007 at 12:06 am #

    Thanks dude. Is all about the practice…

  3. exp_err September 17, 2007 at 4:14 am #

    Is it? How much practice did it take for your drawings to get better than stick figures? Or were you good at drawing to start with, and the practice is just making you even better?

  4. kathrynlinge September 17, 2007 at 7:34 am #

    The comment about practice was in relation to my improvement but I think everyone can get better at drawing and I think classes (or at least outside comment) definitely help.
    It’s actually not about drawing per se but about looking at what you’re drawing and drawing what you see, not what you expect to see. This can be learnt. I can remember when I first started my classes in the UK and my teacher would be going on about the beautiful lines in a particular picture or scene and I’d be a bit wtf?. Now I see beautiful lines all the time, which is kinda weird but also cool.
    I think everyone is capable of drawing better than a stick figure. Can everyone be *good* good? I’m not sure – probably not. I think I had a pretty good handle of proportion even at the start and maybe had some advantage in that respect. I see lots of work in class from people who have been attending for some time where the proportions are totally off, and not (I think) intentionally and, while it would irk me completely, they’re happy with their work. In the context of the group, if they’re happy then that’s all that’s really matters.
    And, ultimately, it’s not about proportion, it’s about producing an attractive picture. Other people in the class distort proportion on purpose and produce some fantastic work. I’m still hung up about producing an exact representation of what I see, but hopefully in time I’ll get to the point where I’m happy to loosen up and start producing stuff that not necessarily in proportion, but describes the figure in other ways. Mebbe 😉

  5. exp_err September 17, 2007 at 10:12 pm #

    Thanks for explaining.

Leave a Reply

