Dalek!!

16 Dec

Check out my awesome Dalek! I drew him! (just finished…)

Dalek Postcard


I’ve had this image in my mind for a while now – I thought a Dalek would probably benefit from the same sort of treatment that I used for planeterry‘s spaceman – i.e. I’d use different text to create gradients, instead of plain shading. It didn’t *quite* work that way. The Dalek was a much more complicated picture and so I started out just putting in grayscale so I could work out what was what. Frankly, by the time I’d got all the greyscale in, the last thing I wanted to do was mess around with text and clipping masks! Perhaps I’ll try later, but the Dalek is a lot more complicated and so it might just end up looking messy.

Anyway, I followed same drill as normal – sketch in pencil, scan and put in illustrator, and then slaved over a hot mouse to produce the final image (I really should get a graphics tablet).

The reason why I’ve drawn him now is to support the ASif! Donation Drive. ‘How is a Dalek going to help a donation drive’, you ask? Daleks are, after all, eVil!! Well For every $5 donation to the drive, you get one entry into the prize raffle. There’s heaps of prizes in the raffle, mostly books (and some really good ones too!) However, I couldn’t help but think that what people really need is Daleks! More specifically, they need Daleks on postcards! Therefore I am donating three packs of ten Dalek postcards. The cards will be printed through MOO (my new best friend 🙂 and will have space on the back for writing your best Dalek’y wishes.

The drive has raised over $1600 at last count, which is a fantastic achievement, but girliejones needs about $5000 to cover next year’s runnings costs and there’s only a week left to go. So, become a friend of ASif! and maybe win some postcardy goodness!! (or, you know, a book 🙂

EDIT: You can now see pics of the finished postcards in my Moo Flickr Set.

10 Responses to “Dalek!!”

  1. benpeek December 16, 2007 at 11:02 pm #

    nice.

  2. kathrynlinge December 16, 2007 at 11:29 pm #

    thanks dude.

  3. catsparx December 16, 2007 at 11:35 pm #

    That Dalek is fucking awesome! Your Illustrator skills shit all over mine!

  4. kathrynlinge December 17, 2007 at 12:10 am #

    Thanks!
    (I have no idea what to even *do* with Photoshop, though. I must learn!)

  5. catsparx December 17, 2007 at 12:11 am #

    I’m the other way round – up to speed in Photoshop but bumbling around in Illustrator

  6. curufea December 17, 2007 at 10:42 pm #

    Photoshop does share some of the vector tools that Illustrator has – I believe, as I use Photoshop ALOT. But I’ve never used Illustrator, so I can’t confirm that.
    Anyhow – very nice image! Did you do the reflective surfaces by hand or is there a tool to create the shades of grey?
    The Devil’s Advocate in me makes me wonder about the legality and copyright though, of using a Dr Who monster to promote something, considering its current popularity – it may draw attention at some stage.

  7. kathrynlinge December 18, 2007 at 12:35 am #

    The shades of grey is all by hand, which, you know takes time!! Although I’m pretty adept at Illustrator (which I first learnt to do the figures for my PhD thesis), I wouldn’t be surprised if I’m using less thna half it’s functionality. I*do* sometimes worry that I’m doing everything the hard way. However, I’ve got soem time off coming up (as of Friday!!) and so I’m hoping to explore iullstrator a bit more, and also come to grips with Photoshop and how they differ.
    I mean, they’re both put out by the same company. Presumably they’re *complementary* to each other!!
    And I *totally* take your point re: copyright. It was something that only occured to me half way through drawing, by which time it was too late to go back!
    (Ok, it totally wasn’t too late to go back, but I chose not to…) If the BBC chose to make an example of me, i’ll just have to take that when it comes…

  8. curufea December 18, 2007 at 12:56 am #

    Illustrator is the software of choice, however if you ever want to create files for printers…

  9. kathrynlinge December 18, 2007 at 1:13 am #

    Which, I guess, is what i’m doing 🙂

  10. Anonymous November 12, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    Great Drawing
    that’s a great drawing, your hard work definitely shows…i saw you use moo to print this guy on business cards, if you’re interested an alternative with better prices and shipping is http://www.printsmadeeasy.com (i’ve never had problems with them in the past, can’t say the same for moo)

Leave a Reply

