Swancon 2008: The Art Show

1 Apr

(I’m slowly catching up on myself)

Time Vortex

This is the ‘original’ artwork I made for the Swancon Artshow this year. It’s a companion piece to Exterminate! (duh), which I also exhibited (as well as my print of planeterry‘s A Lunar Odyssey).

Although it was pretty mcuh the same process, I spent *far* less time on the TARDIS than I did the Dalek, and I’m not quite sure if this was through necessity (I just didn’t *have* the time), or becasue it just didn’t need it. I’m quietly pleased with it, but I more quietly pleased with the Dalek (and T’s spaceman too).

Still, doing the piece gave me a good opportunity to do some work with transparency (it’s good to learn) and some other ‘flashy’ illustrator techniques. I actually quite like the uncropped version, even though it looks unfinished[1] as it has a much better feeling of 3D. I’m not expecting to complete a ‘3D’ version, but it’s something to keep in mind about composition.

The other thing I did at the art show was take photos of all (most?) the other entries, which are are now in this flickr set for posterity. Unfortunately it’s not a perfect set – some of the photos are blurry or have reflections. I’d scribbled down names and titles as I went along – scribble being the operative word. So if any corrections are required to names or title, please let me know 😉

[1]I’d always planned for it to be cropped – the uncropped version just shows the bits that went past the edges.

4 Responses to “Swancon 2008: The Art Show”

  1. markdeniz April 1, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    How much art work have you been doing, do you do?
    Yes, there is a business motive underlying in all this… what do mean it was obvious?
    *looks caught out*

  2. kathrynlinge April 1, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    At the moment I’ve been doing whatever comes my way 🙂
    (It’s been quite heavily weighted in favor of computer art using illustrator, but I’d really like to get back into more stuff where I draw/paint/whatever on actual *paper*)

  3. markdeniz April 2, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    Any preferable styles (as I’ve only seen the DW stuff so far)?
    You had a go at any horror or Assyrian/historical?

  4. kathrynlinge April 3, 2008 at 12:51 am #

    Heh. Somewhat surprisingly I *don’t* have any horror or Assyrian work. I *do* like drawing, but that probably only means I need to practice painting more (this is kinda my aim for the next year). If you want to see what other stuff I’ve done, then there’s things on this LJ or on my flickr page.
    Some stuff form life drawing class:
    http://kathrynlinge.livejournal.com/tag/lifedrawing

    Life drawing class 21st August 2007

    The things I did for an art meme that was going around a year or so ago:
    http://kathrynlinge.livejournal.com/tag/art+meme
    I also have a sizeable collection of quite stylized black and white pen and ink drawings that I’ve been meaning to do something with too (at least put them online or something), but have not yet got round to it…

Leave a Reply

