Contact: Swancon 2009

7 Apr

Swancon 2009: Contact

The launch for Contact: Swancon 2009 was a couple of weeks ago and so the logo I designed (and all sorts of other info) is now no longer secret. In fact, the logo has been plastered on reports, websites, presentations and t-shirts! I’ve been really pleased with the positive feedback so far – someone’s even asked for an electronic copy for their phone 🙂

However, it’s not been seen in colour yet, so I thought I’d post that here. This picture is a 50:50 picture. All of it was done in Illustrator, however half (the left) was done with a mouse only, while the other half (the right) was the first thing I drew with my new graphics tablet! The tablet is great – I’ve got a lot more control of what I’m drawing and so (in theory) everything is quicker. My style is definitely different using it, thought I *do* need to spend some more time practising in general and also using the nifty pressure features the pen comes with.

My next big task for Swancon 2009 is to make up some poster designs and they’ll be in colour and so I’m looking forward to that. There’s lots to look forward to, actually. We had a planning meeting yesterday and there’s heaps of enthusiasm and good ideas (plus bananas!). I’ve got high hopes that it’ll end up being a really great con 🙂

(Was thinking of having a little competition to see who can work out what the logo is based on. But I think it’s pretty obvious, right??)

17 Responses to “Contact: Swancon 2009”

  1. stephbg April 7, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    I love this thing so very much. It presses buttons. Yay you!

  2. mynxii April 7, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    You are the awesomest!

  3. kathrynlinge April 7, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Oh, i think we’re all pretty awesome 🙂

  4. kathrynlinge April 7, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Thanks! 🙂

  5. mynxii April 7, 2008 at 4:05 pm #

    True 😉

  6. ex_benpayne119 April 7, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    Purrdy!

  7. random_alex April 7, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    Almost makes me think I should travel to Perth again next year.

  8. exp_err April 7, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    Neat.

  9. catsparx April 8, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    awesome! I love it!!!

  10. editormum April 8, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    That’s very cool, Ms Michaelangelo (or however the heck you spell it!)

  11. kathrynlinge April 8, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    thanks dude 🙂

  12. kathrynlinge April 8, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    Hehe.

  13. kathrynlinge April 8, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    Ta!

  14. kathrynlinge April 8, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    And you totally should!!!

  15. kathrynlinge April 8, 2008 at 6:10 am #

    ta!

  16. girliejones April 8, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    Of course you totally should!

  17. random_alex April 8, 2008 at 11:23 am #

    Well, yeh… it’s just unlikely!

Leave a Reply

