Book Cover Comp

18 Apr

So I was pottering around the internet last Saturday and found a competition to design a cover for a book that HarperCollins (UK) is putting out in a couple of of months: ‘The Last Days of the Lacuna Cabal’ by Sean Dixon. I love books – both reading them and as objects and would love to get into designing book covers. There wasn’t much time left, though, with just inder a week before the competition closed. After thinking it over for a couple of days, I spent a bit of time with ole faithful, Illustrator, and came up with this.

Lacuna Bookcover_final.jpg

It was an interesting experience to draw something based on a brief – the author had picked out four excerpts from the book and there was some other info provided too. The composition I came up with is quite different from the first ideas I had. And, oddly enough, it was inspired by the fact that I couldn’t find my ruler when I was doing preliminary sketches! (I was using protractor instead and that inspired the setting sun). The rest of the composition loosely incorporates elements of the tale laid out in the excerpts – the Jacob Lighter Building, and a the ferry boat particularly. Although the excerpts did hint that ‘The Last Days of the Lacuna Cabal’ had a dark edge to it, the overall impression I got was of a rather quirky and whimsical story. I *suspect* HarperCollins don’t actually want whimsical in their cover, though, and will probably go for something edgier than this.

Like many slush piles the entries range from those who couldn’t event follow the basic instructions (dimensions and the text that needed to be included) to some really good ones (I like this one). The competition closes in about 12 hours from now and I think the quality of the entries is ramping up in these last few hours. I’m really interested in see what they pick.

(And I already have ideas of what I else can do with the image, in the likely event that it doesn’t win πŸ™‚

7 Responses to “Book Cover Comp”

  1. calla_s April 18, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    One of my notetaking tutorials is a graphic design using computers one. I’ve just been to the one session (indeed, about half a session, cause my student didn’t turn up), and it’s already fascinating to see the way rendering is done, and now I understand layers, and rather want to get into that sort of area myself.

  2. kathrynlinge April 18, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    when are the lectures? *I* want to come too!!

  3. calla_s April 18, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    I was a bit amused by how easily I crashed the tute. It’s in a locked computer lab (and I have no student card), and since I was a bit late I wasn’t sure my student hadn’t just gone in instead of waiting for me, so I nipped in when someone else came out. Then I was completely accepted by the dude running it, up to the point of him taking me off to his office and printing out hard-copies of the stuff for me to pass on. All I did was say “Um, is ‘Student-name’ meant to be here?”, and then clarified that that wasn’t me, but that I was the notetaker. I could so easily have picked a name off the roll and claimed to be them or a notetaker for them! Although that *would* depend on the actual person not being there… Still! Wednesday arvo, architecture building, want to go as the replacement notetaker? πŸ˜‰

  4. stephbg April 18, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    I like yours. Not so keen on the hair in the plughole, unless of course “EEEEEWWWWWWWW” is the response they were after.

  5. lyzbeth April 19, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    That’s lovely. I especially like the curly lighthouse tower thing. πŸ™‚

  6. kathrynlinge April 19, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. kathrynlinge April 19, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    hehe. Anyway, it’ll be interesting to see what they pick…

Leave a Reply

