Label for Vanilla Extract

29 Dec

My last project was to make up a quick label for the bottles of vanilla extract I’ve been making:

Label for Vanilla Extract

I did this in a couple of hours on Christmas Night. I thought an orchid would be appropriate, as that’s where vanilla beans come from. However I was also at my boyfriend’s – without internet – and so I was reduced to looking through my photos for reference material. Fortunately I found this wedding photo that actually worked out well (it’s an orchid, if not a vanilla orchid). A bit of tracing and some lazy font selection later, and I had a label. I printed them up on clear sticky labels and stuck em on 🙂

Vanilla Extract

I tried lots of colours – darker worked better than light, which I probably could have had worked out beforehand, had I thought through everything. Overall, though, I’m pleased with my efforts.

8 Responses to “Label for Vanilla Extract”

  1. random_alex December 29, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    Man, I’m just impressed you made vanilla extract! I should find me some friends to split vanilla beans with… where did you get those from, anyway?
    You’re inspiring me to be all bulk-buying and stuff.

  2. kathrynlinge December 29, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    eBay!!! 🙂
    http://stores.ebay.com.au/Vanilla-beans
    Though there are places you can get Aussie grown ones too

  3. kathrynlinge December 29, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    And, really, the most time consuming step for extract was sourcing bottles (cos I was picky 🙂

  4. random_alex December 29, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    awesome!

  5. girliejones December 29, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    pretty

  6. catsparx December 29, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    i am always so impressed with your crafty projects. You do all the stuff I kid myself I’d be doing if I were more organised.

  7. planeterry January 5, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    without internet
    OMG WHAT KIND OF BARABARIAN ARE YOU GOING OUT WITH?!?!?!
    In other news, as of two weeks ago I can now access internet at home. But it’s really slow so I don’t.
    Hee re “top up” – what kind of vodka did you use?

  8. kathrynlinge January 5, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    He doesn’t have wireless!!
    Though we’ve (and by this you can read he 🙂 since worked out how to access my comp’s wireless, while I’m hardwired to the net (for some reason it won’t work the otherway).
    (Incentive to work this out was so that I could participate in online gaming with him. Yup – World of Warcraft :-O)
    I used the cheapest vodka I could find! (though not the 23% mid-strength stuff I accidentally bought :-O)

Leave a Reply

